Marvel’s Robert Downey Jr., Ming-Na Wen and Jon Favreau become Disney Legends

'Avengers: End Game' Press Conference In Seoul

Robert Downey Jr. has been named a Disney Legend for his role as Iron Man. 

Photo by The Chosunilbo JNS/Imazins via Techhnews

Disney said Thursday that Marvel Cinematic Universe members Robert Downey Jr., Jon Favreau and Ming-Na Wen will be made Disney Legends.

Disney names a series of legends each year in recognition of their contributions to the company.

Downey is being recognized for his role as Tony Stark — which he almost didn’t get — throughout the Marvel movies, from 2008’s Iron Man to Avengers: Endgame, and in supporting roles in Captain America: Civil War and Spider-Man: Homecoming.

Ming-Na Wen was the voice of Mulan in the 1996 animated film and in subsequent video games, TV shows and movies, including the famous Disney princess scene in Wreck It Ralph 2: Ralph Breaks the Internet. She now plays Agent Melinda May, or the Cavalry, on Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Favreau served as executive producer on the three Iron Man movies, The Avengers, Avengers: Age of Ultron, and Avengers: Infinity War, as well as played Happy Hogan in the Marvel movies. 

“The Disney Legends Award is the highest honor we can bestow,” Disney CEO Bob Iger said at the D23 Expo. “It’s a recognition of talent, a celebration of achievement, and an expression of profound gratitude to the remarkable men and women who have made an indelible mark on our company and our creative legacy.”

Also joining the 2019 crop of Disney Legends are Darth Vader actor James Earl Jones, Pirates of the Caribbean composer Hans Zimmer; Executive Vice President of Imagineering Wing Chao, Fantasmic! creator Barnette Ricci, Descendants director and High School Musical producer Kenny Ortega, Hocus Pocus’ Bette Midler, ABC News anchor Diane Sawyer, and ESPN and ABC host Robin Roberts.

Already on the list are 289 other Disney stalwarts, including Pixar co-founder Steve Jobs; Marvel Universe co-creator Stan Lee; Star Wars and Indiana Jones creator George Lucas; Pirates of the Caribbean’s Johnny Depp; Imagineer and artist Mary Blair; prolific Disney princess movie composer Alan Menken; Star Wars’ Carrie Fisher; the original Marry Poppins, Julie Andrews; Jodi Benson, the voice of Ariel; Paige O’Hara, the voice of Belle; Anika Noni Rose, the voice of Tiana; Tim Allen, the voice of Buzz Lightyear; Lea Salonga, who provided the singing voice of Jasmine and Mulan; Billy Crystal and John Goodman of Monsters Inc.; and the original Parent Trap star Hayley Mills.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to our newsletter

Join our monthly newsletter and never miss out on new stories and promotions.
Techhnews will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect.

%d bloggers like this: